In Sanskrit, the term “Arghyam” literally translates as “offering.” An ancient offering made up of water, durva, flowers, and uncooked rice grains is placed in the hands of a visitor as a show of welcome and respect.

In Hinduism, the necessity of presenting Arghya and other forms of devotion to the Sun God (Lord Surya), among other things, has been explained. The Sun God is seen as an element of health, as well as a parent and a soul. Arghya is a religious sacrifice to the Sun God, according to which it is believed to alleviate all types of problems.

As observed during Ganapathi and Durga celebrations, respectful discarding is practiced. This implies that the idol only fulfilled a limited function, to begin with. Later on, a number of temples were mentioned.

Idols are designed in accordance with the principles of iconography. All of these 16 levels are symbolic expressions of formal respect for the ultimate global manifestation of power, which is represented by the number 16.

“Rajopachara” also includes other activities such as holding an umbrella for the Lord, waving a hand fan to provide him with a gentle breeze, singing a song for his pleasure, dancing before him to provide him with entertainment, showing him a mirror, providing horse and elephant rides, and other similar activities.

As though to compensate for any shortcomings or misunderstandings, Hindus have invented the Panchopachara-Puja-mantra, which involves the giving of five ingredients to God.

These elements are: Water is provided for purification, and naivedyam refers to the meal that is presented as naivedyam. Offerings to God and the distribution of Prasada represent God’s participation in the ceremonial feast, which is symbolic of sharing the meal with him.

16 steps are listed below:

  1. Avahanam- extend an invitation,
  2. Asanam- offer a seat and ensure God is seated,
  3. Paadyam- washing God’s feet,
  4. Argyam- offering water,
  5. Achamanam- self purification to attend God
  6. Snanan- offering bath to God,
  7. Yagnopavitham- offering the sacred thread,
  8. Vastram- offering clothing,
  9. Gandham- offering sandalwood paste,
  10. Pushpam- offering flowers,
  11. Dhoopam- offering insence as agar-bathis/doopam
  12. Deepam- traditional oil lamp: bearing,
  13. Naivedyam- offering food,
  14. Tamboolam- offering pan, supari with edible-camphor,
  15. Neeranjanam- Mangala-harati, in clock-wise move and Namaskaram, ‘
  16. Visarjanam- Respectfully bidding farewell by immersion in water bodies