The Rashi Chakra is the circle that encompasses all 360 degrees of the Zodiac. The Nakshatras are the 27 sub-divisions of the Zodiac, and they are located around the circumference of this wheel.

Our wise elder Astrologers first analyzed the impact of signs on the life of the locals, and then they divided the zodiac into 12 parts, with each part consisting of 30 signs.

They further subdivided the zodiac into 27 sections, each of which included 1 degree, 30 minutes, and 20 seconds (360/27), and they termed each section a nakshatra, which translates to “birth star.”

The length of each Rashi is thirty degrees, but the duration of each Nakshatra is thirteen degrees and twenty minutes. This is the primary distinction between Rashi and Nakshatra.

It indicates that the Birth Star is only one component of the Rashi. Every Rashi belongs to a different planet. The characteristics and manifestations of signs, also known as Rashis, are communicated in accordance with the characteristics and manifestations of the planets that possess these Rashis.

In a similar manner, lords were given to the constellations in line with their characteristics and the effects they had. It indicates that a specific constellation has the qualities that are associated with its ruler (planet). The name of the star that is closest to a particular constellation or Nakshatra was used to give that constellation.

Each constellation spans an arc that is 13 degrees and 20 minutes in length, and each has been further subdivided into four quarters (Pada or Charan) that span an arc that is three degrees and twenty minutes each.

Therefore, there are 108 quarters, each consisting of three degrees and twenty minutes (27 times 4, for a total of 108), of the 27 Nakshatras, and a group of nine quarters has been assigned to each sign (108/12). As a result, a Rashi is comprised of 2.25 Nakshatra.

Both the Rashi and the Nakshatra are calculated from the same starting point, which is the zero degrees of Aries. Aries is the first sign of the zodiac, and the first constellation, Ashwini, likewise begins at this zero degree. Rahu and Ketu, two planets known for their obscurity, have also been credited with the possession of certain constellations.

The first 13 degrees and 20 minutes of a sign are owned by one Nakshatra, and the next 13 degrees and 20 minutes are held by the next Nakshatra in cyclic sequence as indicated in the table on the next page. The remaining balance of 3°20 is owned by the Nakshatra that comes after the first one.